Join now - be part of our community!

Help - soft images with SLT 18-55mm lens

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
YS0203

Help - soft images with SLT 18-55mm lens

Hi,

I am a newbie to photography and would like to ask some simple questions...apologies to those of you who already know all this...

I have an SLT 18-55mm lens which came with my Sony A37 camera and I want to use it to take some nice sharp landscape photos but so far all of my attempts have been quite soft.

I followed some tips from another web site about the best settings but haven't been able to get any really sharp images (suitable for A3 size printing).  Can someone tell me what settings I should have to achieve this please?

I have been using Aperture priority with f16, 100 ISO as I was advised to do to get good depth of field.

Any advice would be really helpful!

Many thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Bieomax

Let us know how you get on,

you'll never get amazing sharpness from it, but you should get a good level. if not maybe have a look at some of the Sony Prime lenses as the 'Easy Choice' range they do (35mm 1.8/ 50mm 1.8 and 85mm 2.8) or even the 30mm 2.8 macro (which i think will be my next purchase, either that or the 35mm 1.8). i have the 50 and the 85 and for the cheap price (from £100-£200) they are very well regarded for optical quality. plus they are all quite physically small.

anyhow if you do start looking for another lens check out the Dyxum.com lens database as they have community based lens review system which is very very helpful when looking for a new lens, the forum/community over there are very helpful too.

Mark.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Bieomax

Hi YS0203

While F16 will give you a good depth of field, it won't be the optimal F for sharpness on the lens, try and take some shots between f5 to 8 or 9 and see if that helps improve some of your sharpness, as alot of lenses seem to have a sweet spot between them points.